# NORTHWESTERN AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT #56-7 221 3<sup>rd</sup> STREET, MELLETTE, SD 57461 MONDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2015 REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

#### PROPOSED AGENDA

DATE OF MEETING: MONDAY, DECEMBER 14, 2015

TIME OF MEETING: 6:00 P.M.

PLACE OF MEETING: NORTHWESTERN SCHOOL, MELLETTE, SD

### I Call Meeting to Order

- A. Flag Salute
- B. Consider the Agenda

#### II Board Communications and introduction of visitors

## **III** Approval of Minutes

A. Regular Meeting of November 9, 2015

### IV Approval of Financials

- A. Unadjusted Financial Statement, November 30, 2015
- B. Current Claims

### V Reports

- A. Mr. Toennies Hub Area Technical School
- B. Mr. Osborn
- C. Mr. Bruns
- D. Mrs. Frericks

#### VI Information and Approval Items

- A. Approve Contract Amendment
- B. Approve Contract for Paraprofessional
- C. Approve Nathan Stuck as a volunteer
- A. Approve Annual School Election date traditional June 21st, 2016 (Troy Grandpre & Brett Toennies board positions will be up for re-election)

D.

#### VII Acknowledgements:

Congratulations to Kirstin Borge and Madison Styles for being named Academic All-State for volleyball!

Congratulations to Addison Sparling (2<sup>nd</sup> Team), Josie Clemens (2<sup>nd</sup> Team), Peyton Groft (1<sup>st</sup> Team), and Darby Duncan (1<sup>st</sup> Team) for receiving All-Conference volleyball awards. Darby also received Conference MVP.

Congratulations to Peyton Groft and Darby Duncan for being named to the *Aberdeen American News* All-Area volleyball team.

Congratulations to Cody Lefforge on being named to the All-Lake Region Conference Team for football and to Logan Schentzel for being Honorable Mention.

Congratulations to the NW Reader's Theatre for receiving a Superior at the State Oral Interp. The team is consist of Allison Braun, Kate Finley, Darienne Frericks, Andrea Rausch, and Codi Sparling.

Congratulations to the 6<sup>th</sup> Grade MathCounts Team for placing 2<sup>nd</sup> at the Holgate Competition (Jessica Boekelheide, Sam Groft, Megan Nash, Mackenzie Stoltenberg). Also congratulations to the individual winners: Sam Groft 5<sup>th</sup> place and Jessica Boekelheide 7<sup>th</sup> place

Congratulations to Peyton Groft for being named First Team All-State for volleyball and to Darby Duncan for being named Second Team All-State.

Congratulations to Kris Boekelheide on being awarded Division B Area 1 Cross Country Coach of the Year!

Congratulations to Isaac Groft for being chosen as the KSFY Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Week! Isaac was awarded \$100 and will be invited to attend the Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Week banquet in May.

VIII Date and Time of Next Meeting: Tentatively January 11, 2016

## IX Adjournment