NORTHWESTERN AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT #56-7 221 3rd STREET, MELLETTE, SD 57461 MONDAY, APRIL 9, 2018 REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

PROPOSED AGENDA

DATE OF MEETING: MONDAY, APRIL 9, 2018

TIME OF MEETING: 6:00 P.M.

PLACE OF MEETING: NORTHWESTERN SCHOOL, MELLETTE, SD

I Call Meeting to Order

- A. Flag Salute
- B. Consider the Agenda

II Consideration of Disclosure of Conflict of Interest Authorization

III Board Communications and introduction of visitors

A

IV Approval of Minutes

A. Regular Meeting of March 12, 2018

V Approval of Financials

- A. Adjusting Journal Entries
- B. Unadjusted Financial Statement, March 31, 2018
- C. Current Claims

VI Reports

- A. Mr. Osborn
- B. Mr. Bruns
- C. Mrs. Frericks

VII Information and Approval Items

- A. Accept Resignation from Kristina Bloomhall
- B. Approve Contracts
- C. Approve Open Enrollment Applications
- D. Approve Contract Amendment for Tamra Haven
- E. Northwestern Area School District 56-7 has two school board vacancies. Two petitions were submitted and accepted as valid, therefore, there will not be an election for these vacancies. Amy Troske and Mary Mielke will start another three year term beginning July 1, 2018.
- F. Review and Approve Purchase of 71 Passenger Bus for 18-19 Year
- G. Approve Membership in SDHSAA for 18-19 Year
- H. Approve Renewal of Guarantee Trust Life Student Accident Insurance for 18-19 Year
- I. Approve Dean Foods (Land O Lakes milk) for the 18-19 School Year
- J. Approve Renewal of Group Health Ins with SD School District Benefit Fund ASBSD
- K. Approve Renewal of Workers Compensation with ASBSD

VIII Acknowledgements

Congratulations to all of the students that participated in the Northern State Science Fair Regional Competition. Job well done! The following are the award winners:

Junior High

Sawyer Styles – Geoscientist Award

Tanner Ewalt – NSU Award

Megan Nash – SD Academy of the Sciences Award

Teryn Sparling – SD Academy of the Sciences Award

Dylan Hahler – SD Academy of the Sciences Award

Maren Hansen - NSU Award

Nick Troske – 2nd Place in Category

Maddie Williams – 2nd Place in Category

Brooklinn Halvorson – 2nd Place in Category

Ethan Boekelheide - NASA Award and 1st Place in Category

Jessica Boekelheide – 1st Place in Category

Justin Haven – 1st Place in Category

Junior Division Science Bowl – 2^{nd} Place: Mitchell Vander Wal, Jackson Mielke, Jessica Boekelheide, and Ethan Boekelheide

High School

Tya Weideman – American Psychiatry Award

Hailie and Kiarra Stuck - US Air Force Award

Sadie and Mitchell Vander Wal – NSU Award

Gavin Bohl – NSU Award

Hannah Schentzel - NSU Award

Jarret Haven - NSU Award

Samantha Olson – US Meteorological Society Award

Cassidy Frericks - Sanford PROMISE Award

Alexis Rahm – US Naval Academy Award

Jace Haven – 2nd Place in Category

Bailey Heim – 2nd Place in Category

Caleb Schentzel – 1st Place in Category

Hailey Boekelheide – 1st Place in Category, Intel ISEF Finalist for the International

Science Fair (All Expense Paid Trip to Pittsburgh, PA)

Danny Orr – US Air Force Award, 1st Place in Category, Intel ISEF Finalist for the

International Science Fair (All Expense Paid Trip to Pittsburgh, PA)

Sadie Vander Wal – Dr Rehfeld Award for Excellence in Service and Science: Cash award to Sadie, to Northwestern and a donation to the Salvation Army in Sadie's name!!

IX Date and Time of Next Meeting – May 14, 2018

X Adjournment